Discuss Failed indicator stalk in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

F

Flashless Sierra

Good morning, everybody. I have just registered on these forums in order that I might seek some advice re a car electrics issue. I am not an electrician so I have not bothered introducing myself on the welcome page. Hopefully this is acceptable.

I am trying to help an elderly friend get his motor (Ford Sierra Mk III 1992 2.0i auto), which has been out of use but garaged for a couple of years, ready for an MOT. One thing that is proving to be problematic is the indicator stalk which has failed completely on the LH and only flashes for three or four times on the RH. We sought a replacement item off the interweb but though it fits perfectly it operates slightly differently - our stalk also provides headlamp flash when pulled and switches headlamps on when pushed whereas the replacement only controls the indicators. It looks as if obtaining an exact replacement stalk is going to be problematic so I was considering whether the existing item could be properly repaired. Is this something that an auto electrician could do? Or perhaps a computer technician who deals with PCBs and uses solder etc? Perhaps the idea of the latter gives some the heebie-jeebies.

In the photo you can see the 3 screws. Is it worth removing these for further inspection (not that my friend could do much himself)? By the way we are over 100 miles apart so I do not have direct access to the vehicle. He is in Lowestoft.

Though the car has not been exposed to the outside elements whilst it has been laid-up the garage does suffer from damp and I wonder if this might be attributable to the problem described. That said the general car electrics appear fine and there is no issue with starting the engine etc.