Discuss Fairy lights, and lots of them in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, another year and another problem with Christmas decorations.

I have a project with a large number of fairy lights - 230v through rectifiers, strapped to a metal grid. I am getting a pretty sizeable earth leakage per frame - around 8-10mA which increases to 15 when wet. The lights are from a high quality manufacturer, ip67 rated and tied on with cable ties. Other than the cable ties being too tight reducing the effectiveness of the insulation is there anything else that could be causing the earth leakage? Would induction have an impact as there's quite a bit of that going on.
I have multiple frames and the earth leakage is very similar frame to frame so it makes me think there is no proper short to ground happening and there is something else i have no knowledge of.

Now my real question is whether this really is an issue, does it need to be covered by an RCD? The location is way out of reach of the public and the 32A outlet could be considered as for specific use, is there anything in the regs that make it so all outside sockets require RCD protection regardless of application? One outlet is feeding two frames and when wet the leakage rises just enough to trip the 30mA RCBO, if you plug one in on its own - no issues.

Any thoughts appreciated.

The frames are earthed with a nut and bolt with crimped bond back to the junction box where the rectifiers split from the main feed. LEDs require DC so cheap (I assume bridge type) rectifiers are used to stop the LEDs from flickering from AC.

Can you measure the leakage current:

a. To the frame with the lights connected to the transformer on the frame.

b. To the frame with the lights disconnected from the transformer on the frame.

c. To the frame with the lights of the frame connected temporarily to another transformer hung in the air by a length of insulated flex or plastic rope.