Discuss Fault finding in DIYers paradise in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi
This is my first post on any forum, I’ve been an electrician for 15 years and this fault finding job has got me stumped!
Attended a very old cottage, usual story of fuse blowin at the board. Turns out to be a 6amp 30mA RCBO, the circuit has a fluctuation neutral earth fault on it ranging from 0,15 - 3 mega ohm. Further inspection into the property found the wiring a absolute disaster! Single twin at the switch positions and single twin at the wall lights and downlights and the whole house wired on 1 lighting circuit. The advise I’m looking for, is there any logical way of finding this fault? I have done all the obvious, disconnected outside lights, inspected switches, light fittings and everything that I can get access to. The wiring in this property is a disaster and I’m unsure how to approach it on my next visit. Thanks in advance, mike

disconnect circuit conductors from CU. estimat a rough mid point of the circuit. split circuit and IR test each section, don't forget to switch switches on/off. then, on the faulty portion, find the last light and short L-E. then test at each point for continuity. you then know which lights are on that section. then split down again till you track the fault.

Hi SWD, unfortunately the wife wasn’t there! I’ve asked him about the condition of the install and he said it was a bodger builder who owned the house before him Zzzzz usual story! He has blamed the heavy rain....after asking him a few times if he had done any work himself. Trouble is there is no accessible point to split the lighting main to pin poin the location, unless I start ripping his 18th century cottage apart! I’m at a serious loss with this one.