Discuss First inspection tomorrow and found broken cpc - advice please! in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

Mike Forbes

Hello! I'm new to this so please be gentle...

I have my first ever ELECSA inspection tomorrow. To prove that I know vaguely what I'm doing, I've replaced our old CU with a shiny new split load one. After dealing with wires that were too short, replacing lots of choc blocks that shouldn't be there and connecting the CPCs to the metal switch plates I've done all the testing which has passed with flying colours.

Except...

The cable that goes to the cooker has a break in the CPC somewhere. I discovered this while measuring r1 + r2 (70k ohms) and have confirmed that it is the earth that is at fault (line 0.30 ohms, cpc 70k ohms, neutral 0.30 ohms). (Insulation test gave >299MOhms)

I am in no doubt that this cable needs to be replaced. My issue is that it is 3:30 now and my inspection is at 9:30 tomorrow morning.

So, is there any reasonable way I can NOT destroy my kitchen it what remains of this afternoon? Ideas I have had:
- remove circuit breaker for cooker and replace cooker plate with a blank
- run a new cpc only from the cooker plate back to the CU (as this wouldn't create too much mess)

Would really appreciate your advice!

hi mike