Discuss Fixings for double plasterboard stud walls in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

Mazza78

Hi.Im a new apprentice electrician and was after some advice on fixings please!? I today's had to fit an emergency exit sign in stud wall but it had double layered plasterboard. I thought plasterboard fixings(pig tails) would work but they never gripped and kept spinning out! Am I using wrong fixing or doing something wrong!?
Thanks

Thanks for that. Can't understand why the plasterboard fixing doesn't work at all. I took my time screwing it in but as soon as put screw in it spins and comes out!? Confused

Did you use the screw that come with the fixing , if you use differnt screws you can easy over tighten the fixing and it will come out, and if you try and un screw it it will pull it out, these types of fixings are not the best and will only hold small loads

Lee beat me to it :)

Thanks for that. Can't understand why the plasterboard fixing doesn't work at all. I took my time screwing it in but as soon as put screw in it spins and comes out!? Confused
Hi Mazza- plaster is only strong in compression which is why the toggle fitting can work better. A screw thread will always tend to expand plasterboard and cause it to fail locally. Likewise, a plug will tend to expand the plaster and not grip when a screw is driven in.

Did you use the screw that come with the fixing , if you use differnt screws you can easy over tighten the fixing and it will come out, and if you try and un screw it it will pull it out, these types of fixings are not the best and will only hold small loads

Lee beat me to it :)

Hi Lee