Discuss Fluke users: Advise on best model please... in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Capn Ahab

I have been using the Fluke 1651b in the training centre and am now looking at buying my own, but don't know whether to go for the 1651, 1652 or 1653.

What does the phase rotation function actually do? And how important is it? :confused:

Please bear in mind that I am only studying towards the 2391 at the moment and have not used 3 phase in anger so to speak.

Any in depth advice from Fluke users on the relative merits of the range would be much appreciated - it's about £300 difference between the top and bottom models, so I want to work out whether saving cash means cutting corners, or spending over the odds just gives you flashy extras that you can easily work around with a bit of noddle...

Cheersio.

Ahab

personally. i'd go for a megger. very robust, simple to use. i know you are used to fluke, but see if you can get somebody with a megger 1552 so you can get a feel for it. buying a MFT is a big investment and it would be wise to check alternatives before investing a large chunk of cash, then wishing you had bought something different. pesrsonally, i don't have the need for phase rotatin indication, so unless you are doing quite a lot of 3 phase, i would question the need for it on a MFT

Last edited: