Discuss Funerals and you think plumbers earn a fortune in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

Squid

As some of you know my Aunt passed away earlier in the week and as I am at a loose end I have been helping my other Aunt the executor of the estate to sort things out.

£5500 for the funeral, this doesn't include the flowers......... £1500 to open the grave as its a dual plot/stacked......... jeeeeez

When I go I want a humanist funeral in a straw coffin and to be cremated.......

When I buried my Mum I got a a price and it worked out cheaper to by a triple stacked plot then a double as at the time I was a resident of Kensington and Chelsea and my Mum lived in W12 but wanted to be buried in a specific cemetery as she "liked" the place at least I got her a nice "view" of the Katyn memorial.

Sorry about the loss of your Aunt SWD. I believe cost of funerals are being investigated at the moment. If you catch any daytime TV it’s clear that there is a whole industry targeting the grey pound re saving plans etc for funerals.
I’m like you, humanist funeral in a cardboard box under an oak tree would suit me. Something to keep the worms happy for a few days. No idea about the cost of humanist funerals, fortunately something I’ve not had to research.:)

Sorry about the loss of your Aunt SWD. I believe cost of funerals are being investigated at the moment. If you catch any daytime TV it’s clear that there is a whole industry targeting the grey pound re saving plans etc for funerals.
I’m like you, humanist funeral in a cardboard box under an oak tree would suit me. Something to keep the worms happy for a few days. No idea about the cost of humanist funerals, fortunately something I’ve not had to research.:)
Thanks FatAlan, she was 93 and had a good innings especially after spending a few years in a concentration camp in Siberia..... then living in Tanganika.