Discuss Fuse board regs? in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

macka09

Hi all. I'm not an electrician but would like some advice please.
95b5b48905bcb750ba855dd16ccd444a.jpg

The fuse board above is what is in our new property. A single old man lift there before us and only had few appliances.
We're now being told our house insurance will be void if we don't get it upgraded and it needs doing for our safety. I don't mean to question a qualified electricians judgement but I've never heard anything like it. Any advice please?

I know mate but I'm not at the house now. It's the same board with breakers for lighting upstairs & downstairs. There's one for sockets down stairs and 1 for sockets upstairs. One for the cooker. That's it I think. Basically he's said its fine for 1 bloke but not for a family of 4

nothing wrong with that board. it will serve most sizes of domestic property., no matter if it's 1 bloke or a family of 10. after jan.2016, all new boards need to be metal b ut the new reg. does not apply to boards already fitted. sounds like you have met an electrician touting for work.

it would be advantageous to have it checked over before any new circuits are added.

Last edited:
There's nothing wrong with the board per-se, as long as the electrical installation is safe.
Did the electrician do any testing or did he just look at the board and condemn it?
Talk to your insurers and ask them what they require.

ha. she's probably still breast feeding the toerag.

so insist that the landlady makes good the decor.

Tell this plonker that your house insurance provider have requested this opinion in writing so they can verify it with their experts.
Something like that should make him wind his neck in.

No no. The electrician is the landladys son. That's why I'm disgusted at the thought of him making money off his mother