Discuss Fuse Help for hob & oven in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi,

Apologies is this is in the wrong section, I am no electrician and I am after some advise/help.

I have an electric fan oven and induction hob and they both run off the same fuse, when ever I cook for long periods of time the 13A fuse in the wall seems to blow and when we remove it its boiling hot. It has done it once before but thought maybe it was just the fuse that blew, but yesterday I was cooking for a few hours and it did it again, when ever we replaced the fuse it just blew within a few seconds and that fuse was boiling hot straight away.
Can anyone shed any light on why this might be happening please?

When the fuse blew yesterday it didnt trip on the mains board.

Any advise would be really helpful.

Thank you

If you are correct that they both run off the same fuse In a wall mounted enclosure something is sadly wrong here .
You need to get this checked out as the cables will suffer damage that could lead to a fire.
I had an oven a few weeks back that had burned the connections to a crisp in the oven itself , fed from a 13 amp plug, it did not have the help of a hob, so get this checked for safeties sake.
The occupiers had just been changing the fuse until it would no longer hold.

Well there is a 13amp fuse plug on the wall and when you switch that off both the hob and oven go off? How would I know if they are definitely running off one that one fuse?
We didn't install it ourselves, it was already in when we moved in May.

Well if they both go off it seems pretty certain to me .
Are you saying the hob is just plugged in to a socket?
Is this a free standing cooker or separates?

Well there is a 13amp fuse plug on the wall and when you switch that off both the hob and oven go off? How would I know if they are definitely running off one that one fuse?
We didn't install it ourselves, it was already in when we moved in May.