Discuss good practice or should it be compulsory in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

MG201

-
Reaction score
the fitting of a small emergency light above or near consumer units especially where it is located in areas such as small dark cupboards or under a stair case ? this is both for ind and dom cases, im not talking about a massive fitting just enough to illuminate area if needed. any thoughts on this matter greatly appreciated , was thinking of asking for this to be done this as standard in all installations, ps before any cheeky comments im not a spark im a site manager so obviously i will never have the skills and knowledge of a professional spark , although at times i wonder from some of the so called sparks that appear on sites

the fitting of a small emergency light above or near consumer units especially where it is located in areas such as small dark cupboards or under a stair case ? this is both for ind and dom cases, im not talking about a massive fitting just enough to illuminate area if needed. any thoughts on this matter greatly appreciated , was thinking of asking for this to be done this as standard in all installations, ps before any cheeky comments im not a spark im a site manager so obviously i will never have the skills and knowledge of a professional spark , although at times i wonder from some of the so called sparks that appear on sites
I once came across a metal Cu in germany that looked white but was actually sprayed with glow in the dark paint! only realised as as there was a power cut and used the torch on my phone to see if it had tripped in the flat, hadn't so then looked outside and all was dark. but a nice green glow in the cupboard!

Certainly in an industrial environment and probably also commercial - it just seems like common sense.
I fitted an LED emergency bulkhead at home but it failed after about 2 years, not sure when exactly because probably like most homeowners I couldn't be arsed with testing it.