Discuss Hate my new job! in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Just landed a new job. It's only been 4 days and I'm about to quit today. The role involves working on gas meters (wall testing).

They want me to manually take readings from 20 gas meters on a wall. Each meter has about 15 data information which i need to type into a tablet held by my left hand. After holding the tablet for 30 min my left arm felt it was about to rip off.

They want me to do this daily! Forget that I'm a electronics / electrical engineer HNC qualified! This has to be the most boring job that I've ever encountered!!

The job spec could have been much clearer what a wast of my precious time. It did mention about electronics being involved but looking at my team they are all bunch of software engineers dressed in shirt and pants in an office environment so is my work desk to.

My biggest mistake was that I didn't ask for a tour of their factory during my interview or they didn't offer it themselves.

Sorry for any spelling mistake!

as above.. Great idea...
If you do take pics then don't bin them afterwards. Stick the pics on a hard drive just in case something goes wrong and someone accuses you of putting the wrong readings down.

The job spec could have been much clearer what a wast of my precious time. It did mention about electronics being involved but looking at my team they are all bunch of software engineers dressed in shirt and pants in an office environment so is my work desk to.

are they all female, 20 and scanavian?