Discuss Heating system question - new build in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

daveb

-
Reaction score
Hello chaps,

I class myself as having good electrical knowledge and good at my job. However, heating systems is something I have little to noooooo experience on. Anyway, I digress....

I've been asked to quote for a new build today and the only thing that fears me is the heating system. From what I can see, each room is having a room thermostat -something I've not seen before. My own house is relitavely new and only has one controller in the downstairs hall.

I suppose my question at this point in the quote comes to what I need to keep in mind for pricing? Ie does each room stat need a three core and Earth run to it back to the hot water tank cupboard where all the manifolds are? What else - a three core from the boiler to the hot water tank cupboard?

Help would be appreciated -go easy on me as the job doesn't go ahead until December so have plenty time to read up on the type of heating system it is and how to connect it but would like to cross the first bridge now re which cables to rough in and to where (to quote for at this stage)

Thanks peeps

Price for a heating supply point in tank cupboard only and state in quote heating supplies tbc with plumber once on site on hourly rate + materials cost.
Dont worry too much about the 1st fix for these systems as theyre reasonably straight forward once you have the correct system wiring diagram to work with.
All the best

Hi mate sound like each room is zoned. So if its having a standard set up you will have a 3core and earth from each thermostat position back to the wiring centre for the corresponding manifold. If all the manifolds, hot water cylinder and boiler are all in the same position it will make your job 100 x easier.