Discuss Hello and project question? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi there
To start with, I am not an electrician but I hope that you are willing to help?, I am currently fitting out a shell of a room, i.e battens, insulation, sockets, plasterboard etc. Before I insulate I need to lay the electric cables for both sockets and lights, the room has not had electricity in it previously (just laying the cables, I will be getting an electrician in to do the actual connecting), the sockets are simple and I understand but I am unsure as to which method I should cable the lights, as I understand it can be either Loop at Light or Loop at Switch, are there any benefits to either or do the regs now require a particular method?
Hope you can help?
Peter s

Hi Peter, welcome to the forum. In answer to your question, 'Loop' at the light or switch will really depend on what sort of luminaires you intend to install or the nature of the installation.

I note you are not an electrician, but intend to install the cables, and get an electrician in to connect. If you asked me to do this, as an electrician I would decline. Being responsible for the final connection, I would be taking on some of the responsibility of the correct installation of the cabling.

Before circuits are energised, they need inspection & testing, using appropriate test equipment.

I would suggest you rethink your project, and employ the services of a competent electrician.

Hi Peter, lots of things to take into account:
How are you intending to feed the lights and sockets?
You need to understand that running cable in insulation may need some sizing calculations.
What type and size of cable are you intending to use?