Discuss Help 3phase dishwasher in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

brum

Hi guys fitted a commercial dishwasher today extended c/w supply made drainage alterations etc.Being a helpful stupid bloke connected up cables.Didnt know neutral changed from black to blue so have connected up incorrectly none of the breakers tripped am I in the brown stuff or not im a plumber to trade(thought it better to put that in last)In my day blue was a phase and black neutral...help plz:willy_nilly:

Hi guys fitted a commercial dishwasher today extended c/w supply made drainage alterations etc.Being a helpful stupid bloke connected up cables.Didnt know neutral changed from black to blue so have connected up incorrectly none of the breakers tripped am I in the brown stuff or not im a plumber to trade(thought it better to put that in last)In my day blue was a phase and black neutral...help plz:willy_nilly:

if it's 3 phase what were the other colours of the live phases and neutral, red yellow blue and black or brown black grey and blue? if it's the latter then go back and change it before it is turned on

Hi,

If I was you I would slip an Electrician a nice wedge to come and have a look for you, or alternatively ask some nice ladies ( no inference intended to the opposite sex here, but they are so much better at this than us lowly gentlefolk) to do the washing up.
Strap yourself in tight , it's going to be a rough ride.

Regards.

3 phase dishwasher... is that 3 diffeernt birds on shiftwork in my kitchen..... heaven.

Yes, "harmonised" colours have been around for a few years now.
I think the idea was and is madness.
For the very reason you have illustrated. Confusion.

That doesn't absolve you from the gaffe. It's a job you should not have undertaken.
But I do have sympathy - you were trying to help.

I don't know what the consequences are likely to be in terms of possible equipment damage.