Discuss HELP...Kitchen wiring inadequacies??. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Ceekay

-
Reaction score
Sorry guys I'm sure these points have been raised before but been busy searching.

I have been sent a diagram by the shop where we purchased our kitchen for the electrical wiring requirements and positions. I am a electrician to the 17th edition by trade but it's not my every day job nowadays so I'm questioning myself and require some confirmation.

One of the items is a 7KW induction hob for the island and the drawing states a 2.5mm cable to the cuboard under the hob??. This is scary to me as I work this out at around 28A which I believe is around the max the cable could carry even without any factoring taken into consideration? There is some led lighting also on the island which I take they will supply from this cable but obviously that will be minimal (I take it this would need to be fused down?) but more importantly a 13A pop up socket has also been added to the island and therefore had just put this part of the installation well beyond what they have originally stated.