Discuss Help on furthering my PLC knowledge. in the Canada area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mike F

Hi, I am currently an electrician working within the food manafacturing industry. I have a basic understanding of a few PLC's and various software used to view information on these.

I'm looking to further my knowledge and understanding of PLC's with the hope of moving from just simple maintance and fault finding to modifications to existing programs and also eventually writing programs.

Is there any distance learning schemes people can recommend, as i have found on scan time . co . uk but they seem a little vague.

Thanks in advance

Mike

Sorry, I've never done any PLC work. They are all manufacturer specific, so find out what makes/chips you are dealing with first so you can tailor the training. You may well find some of the manufacturers offer training as well.

We mainly use allen bradley plc and one or two S7's. I have the software for both just after some direction in this field. Many of the advertised courses, when read into seem along the lines of these 5 days domestic installer super spark scheme. I would just like to avoid these and do the proper training.

Mike

Contact Allen Bradley technical support and ask them if they offer (or know anyone that does offer) a course. Most manufacturers are keen to help folks that are using their chips.

I have emailed them already, the other main reason i put this thread up up was that i see a few of the people who post here work with PLC's (possibly Engineer54 or Tony). I just can't find the posts, can only just about remeber seeing them.

Mike