Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

    5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss Help on how to get this light working? in the DIY Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    Hi i recently bought a metal lathe which was three phase i have today wired the lathes motor to a vfd as im only on single phase electric, the downside to this is i have lost all the lathes original electronics including the coolant pump (i have got this working) and the little work light.

    The light is what i need help with i want to run it direct from a 13amp plug and still keep the little on and off switch on the handle the light fitting says 25v 100w.

    How and what do i need to get this wired up please?

    20171012_121713.jpg

    20171012_121724.jpg

    20171012_121753.jpg
     
  2. Marvo
    Offline

    Marvo Admin and gender confused Staff Member

    Location:
    South Africa
    That light fitting is designed to be very low voltage supplied via a transformer. I'm guessing it was supplied from the transformer in the control panel.

    This conversion is giving me the heebie jeebies. Are the controls such as safety switches and inching functions working? I can't help thinking this machine is likely to be dangerous. How much electrical and control experience do you have?
     
  3. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    Hi yes the light ran from the fuse box were there is a transformer everything on the lathe does not work but i got a new control box which stop starts slows down the machine perfect i will be getting the emergency foot brake wired into it
     
  4. Marvo
    Offline

    Marvo Admin and gender confused Staff Member

    Location:
    South Africa
    That transformer looks like it can be used across a wide range of input voltages so could probably be reconfigured to work with single phase supply.
     
  5. Marvo
    Offline

    Marvo Admin and gender confused Staff Member

    Location:
    South Africa
  6. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    tried getting local companies out to get this running from single phase with no joy no one wanted to touch it????

    So i have got a vfd and control unit now running the motor, the coolant pump is 440 star cannot change it but i have ran a cap and it appears to be working the only other thing i need to change is the light and get the e stop wired into the vfd and im sorted

    ideally i wanted to leave all the original wiring as is so if i was to sell the lathe all the three phase is still wired correctly
     
  7. Marvo
    Offline

    Marvo Admin and gender confused Staff Member

    Location:
    South Africa
    I would have done a proper conversion to single phase and just sold it in future along with all the 400v contactor coils and lamps that were removed during the conversion.
     
  8. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    i would have if i known how but i dont tried to get this done but no one in hull was interested in doing the job, the good thing about using the vfd though s i now have infinite speeds to the lathe
     
  9. Marvo
    Offline

    Marvo Admin and gender confused Staff Member

    Location:
    South Africa
    There's a good chance converting the controls to single phase wouldn't even require any new components. I'd honestly suggest you stop and explore the single phase conversion of the original controls again. Maybe look for an machine tools enthusiasts group in your local area, they often do these kinda projacts more as a labour of love than for profit. If you're lucky, maybe even one of the forum members in your area would be interested in checking it out and giving you some advice at a sensible price.
     
  10. Rob
    Offline

    Rob Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    North west
    Please tell me this is for personal home use only, as the amount of statutory regulations you haven't followed is worrying.

    Nobody wants to touch it as most electricians would not have the knowledge or competence to bring it up to current regulations. Once you start modifying the control of the machine they would legally have to CE mark it. If you plan on selling it at any point in the future you will have to do the same.

    How are you planning on wiring a foot brake into the system? As you will need to stop the chuck within a set time, and that VFD you purchased is doubtful to have any functions that would satisfy this criteria.
     
  11. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    or put it back as it was and get a 3 phase supply. o_O, coz how it is is like buying a Chevy Corvette when you only have diesel fuel available.
     
  12. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    tried a single to three phase converter this lathe set up does not run on it correctly already explored
     
  13. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    The foot brake is mechanical as well as electrical when you push down on the brake it touches a contacter which turn the motor off then keep pushing the brake further down and it applies the brakes onto the spindle to bring it to a stop, this can and will be wired into the vfd other than this all that has really happened is i am now using a different control box

    this is for home use and after speaking to alot of people on forums and companies this was the best route to go, people who already have a single or three phase lathe convert them to vfd this is not uncommom

    20171012_154348.jpg
     
  14. powderblast
    Offline

    powderblast EF Member

    Location:
    hull
    i was just wanting some advice on getting the light wired up to a plug just like a simple lamp

    think i will need some sort of transformer but you lot will know better than me, and were to get it from.
     
  15. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Can you post a good picture of the transformer.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Help light working Forum Date
Wedding light up letters help! DIY Electrical Forum Yesterday at 9:14 AM
Domestic Need Help with Light Switch Change DIY Electrical Forum Wednesday at 2:15 PM

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job