Discuss HELP with quote please. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi good morning.

I hope you are all well and have had a good Christmas .

I went to quote for a job today.

Its one large house that has been converted into 2 HMO properties.

Couple of questions that i need help with please. As i have never done any install work on a HMO before .

The builder had an electrician there before Christmas who has 1st fix both properties including a fire alarm system in each.
What certification do i neee to provide for the fire alarm system?

Is it something i can issue as a domestic installer with the NIC. Via my online certification website? Or do i need a registered fire alarm company to issue certification?
Do plans of the fire alarm system need to issued also?

Is there any other issue i need to think about with a HMO?

Does it need emergency lighting installed?

Many thanks Darren the electrician from volt-elect

We have had this on the forum a few times before. Why is the electrician who done the first fix not doing the second fix it is now his design? I would want an EIC for the design and first fix from him before starting. There are exceptional circumstances eg sadly the current electrician had passed away suddenly or through serious injury/ill health or the electrical contractor has "gone bust".

Yes will require emergency lighting and with regards to the fire alarm you need drawings for design, as installed and obviously of zones. As it’s life saving equipment it would probably best to work alongside someone who’s knows the ropes.....Their could be a member on here that could help. I doubt you would be able to do the appropriate certification being a domestic installer as it’s defined scope for the likes of kitchen fitters, heating engineers etc.

Hi .