Discuss hey guys continuity testing in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

roketmorris

hey guys i am studying for my C&G level 3 and i have my practical inspection and testing next week and i cant find anywhere thae values that are aceptable when you read continuity on a lighting circuit for instances and they havent told us at college

i presume it is somethning to do with the resistivity of the cable and the area like
reswitivity devided by length times area or something anyone help me out??

continuity of circuit protective conductors?
if so then you are not looking for a set value as in ir testing but you would require a very low reading proving that continuity exists.

hats wat i thought but you wont always no that if you are doing a periodic or inspection wud you so wat do you do then if you dont know length or anything???

Guess you would just have to make a estimated guess but its like you say you would not know for sure where or how long the cable is.

Table 7.1 in the OSG gives maximum cable lengths for final circuits. Most of these values are worked out using Voltage Drop as the limiting factor but you can use these maximum lengths to work out the maximum R1 + R2 readings you should be expecting using the conductor resistance table on page 166 (OSG)

For example the maximum length for a 6A lighting circuit (load distributed) on a TN system wired in 1.5/1mm² cable on a Type B MCB is 90m (limited by Voltage Drop).

Using this you can now work out your maximum R1 + R2.

From the table on page 166 the R1 + R2 resistance for 1.5/1mm² is 30.2mΩ/meter (0.0302Ω/meter). However this value is at a conductor temperature of 20°C so you multiply it by 1.2 to correct it for a conductor temperature of 70°C (the maximum operating temperature of the cable).