Discuss Hi all. Help on part P required please. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Firstly hi everyone. I am an electrical engineer in the manufacturing industry. I hold the BS7671 17th edition certificate and have a HND in electrical engineering.

My confusion is as follows;
We are having an extension built which is going to be a family room added on to the existing kitchen. We have had building control involved to inspect the build etc.
I am doing the electrical work myself and I have run all the cables for the ring main and the lighting circuits to BS7671 standards. I plan on connecting the extension sockets to the the kitchen ring main (extending the ring and not spurring off) and extending the downstairs lighting circuits to complete the build. I had a registered electrician out to check my work was ok at first fix and was verified as good. I also took plenty of photos before the plaster board went on.

Can I test/sign off the minor works myself with my qualifications/certifications? Or do I need building control to sign off the work even though they haven’t inspected the first fix? I am confused with the notify part and the sign off part and now the plaster is on, I am getting worried it may have to come off again if building control get involved!

Sorry for the long thread and thanks in advance for any help.

C

You have to speak to building control explain where you are and ask what they will accept as it is their decision irrespective of what anyone says on here. It really depends on the BCO and the local policy. You cannot sign off/notify the work yourself unless you are a member of a Part P scheme. Inspect and test and notification to local authority is completely different. You could try and find a local electrician who will be happy to do a third party sign off/notification. Personally I would speak to the sparks who came in and inspected your first fix as this may be the path of least resistance.