Discuss Hi im new here ! Advice for wiring cooker in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello all ! Im not an electrician. Have no electrical back ground . Im just looking for a bit of advice. My cooker has packed in so im going to buy a new one. I am going to install it myself . seen alot of videos it looks simple enough. The thing im unsure about is . In wall socket there Live and Neutral cables but there are two earth cables. Is this normal Thanks for any advice AndrewHi im new here ! Advice for wiring cooker upload_2018-10-30_6-21-40 - EletriciansForums.net

Hello all ! Im not an electrician. Have no electrical back ground . Im just looking for a bit of advice. My cooker has packed in so im going to buy a new one. I am going to install it myself . seen alot of videos it looks simple enough. The thing im unsure about is . In wall socket there Live and Neutral cables but there are two earth cables. Is this normal Thanks for any advice AndrewView attachment 45345
I did wonder about that, it's early brain not fully active yet, but Sidecar Man has come up with the goods, need more coffee I think.

Hello and Welcome to the Forum :)
Have you selected the new cooker?

Hello and Welcome to the Forum :)
Have you selected the new cooker?
hi! yes i have selected a Bush Dhbet50w cooker from argos . so i guess the wiring in the socket is normal ?. I just match live to live,earth to earth, (Even though there are two cable their already) and neutral to Neutral

How does the current rating of the new oven compare to the old one?

When you get your new cooker, it will not come with cable that connects the cooker to the wall plate.
See product manual

So, you need to keep the existing connecting cable.