Discuss Hi New here looking for some information regarding MCS in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

Deee

Hello This is my first post on here although I have been looking through the forum quite a bit as its a very good resource for microgen information.
Just to clarify I am not a qualified electrician so some dumbing down may be needed.

I am currently starting the MCS process for a heating company that I work for. Although they are going for MCS mainly for heat pumps and solar thermal they are also going to become accredited for solar pv as often the work they tender for has numerous technologies. Although I should stress the company is not making any effort to chase PV work.
As such then all electrical work will be handed out to electrical contractors which is where my questions lead.

If the company sub contracts to electrical contractors am I correct in believing that the sub contractor does not have to be MCS just competent? Bearing in mind all non electric work regarding the install will be conducted by the companies own staff who will of course be competant.

My other query is regarding the documents we will need to hold. Those in question are BS 7671 and G83. Firstly we are doing MCS via Napit and they have asked for us to hold our own copies of these documents. As we will be designing the systems would this then require us to definately hold a copy of both of these? The G83 notifcation documents are available online for free and seem very straight forward to complete. Would it be possible to access these documents through a library for reference? The iet website wants £210 for BS7671 which does seem like a great deal of money when the company wont have a great deal of involvment in the elecrical side of things.

Any advice would be greatly apppreciated.