Discuss Hi Newbie here....... in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

Squid

Was an apprenticed electrician a good while back, ex EIL and Matthew Hall sparks then went in to other things. Looking for advice to get back in to the game so need some advice as what I will need to do to get back up to speed.

I was JIB graded and did my 236/1 + 236/2 a long time ago, any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

SWD

Welcome to the forum mate.

18th ed. when it comes out next year. if you want a JIB/ECS card, you may qualify for mature entry to get a gold card.

Whats the easiest route to apply for the JIB/ECS card electrix and are you calling me old, mature entry pfffft ;o))))))

Thanks for the link, I qualified in 1985 so I'd say it makes me an old fart around here........ only trouble been out of the game a while so need to come back up to speed and regs to get the qualifications in order.

The link seems to be more for someone who has beed doing the "job" but never qualified?

Just phoned the JIB and they still have me on the system as an electrician and it seems that all I need to do is pass a H+S test and apply for the ECS card, seems scary than in a few weeks I could be let loose with my ancient PYRO and Elliot Lucas tools....... ;o))))

To get fully up to spec I assume I need to pass the latest regs.

Just phoned the JIB and they still have me on the system as an electrician and it seems that all I need to do is pass a H+S test and apply for the ECS card, seems scary than in a few weeks I could be let loose with my ancient PYRO and Elliot Lucas tools....... ;o))))

To get fully up to spec I assume I need to pass the latest regs.
the H&S test is a simple multichoice. cost about £40 to take it. then do the 18th next year. sorted.