Discuss Higher Education (HNC/HND) in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi All, new to the forum.

My names Kris, I'm 29 years old and i'm a fully qualified Electrician, including City & Guilds Level 4 Design & Verification.

I really want to further my knowledge and after some research the only route left, I can see that is left to take whilst working at the same time, would be a HND in Electrical Engineering, then possibly onto Batchelors then Masters. It would have to be Distance Learning.

Could anyone advise wether this is a worth while thing to do considering the commitment it is and wether there is anything I should be taking into consideration before I start. I love the idea of becoming an engineer but want to make sure it's the right direction.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated as I have been asking around in lots of different places but can't seem to get any down to earth advice about it all.

it's a good progression from where you are now, but bear in mind that with HND etc., you'll be more likely to be offered desk jobs unless you are lucky and can find a proper engineering job.

it's a good progression from where you are now, but bear in mind that with HND etc., you'll be more likely to be offered desk jobs unless you are lucky and can find a proper engineering job.
Hi telectrix, thanks for your reply. Well to be honest I'm happy where I work at the moment being on site being part of the construction and supervising but this is more 'future proofing' if you will. Get some higher education while I'm still young... ish and then perhaps in the future when I want to pack the tools up i can possibly have the option to go into a more office based job.