Discuss Hive receiver connections to Vaillant boiler in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I have a Vaillant EcoTec Pro 28 boiler and a Vaillant mechanical thermostat (unsure of the precise model) and I’m thinking about installing hive to be able to access the remote switching feature and also to able to place the thermostat where I want it rather than where the installer thought it should go.

I should say upfront that I’m not an electrician and having looked at the board inside the boiler I’m leaning towards buying hive with the installation option, I expect that’s what the advice would be anyway to avoid any issues but my curiosity has the better of me and I wonder if anyone could offer any insight into how the hive receiver should be wired into my particular boiler. I have taken a picture of the board inside the boiler and also have the wiring diagram but I can’t identify where the various wires should be connected, anyone who knows care to offer their expertise, just to sate my curiosity? I noticed when looking at the board that there seems to be a second board beneath the one that’s visible in the picture, would it be necessary to access that to make the connections? Really appreciate any help.
RPhiqYlGRLipFL9Urk5Yuw.jpg x4hXEMYCSF+xLcHR1TW8iA.jpg

I should say upfront that I’m not an electrician and having looked at the board inside the boiler I’m leaning towards buying hive with the installation option, I expect that’s what the advice would be anyway to avoid any issues but my curiosity has the better of me and I wonder if anyone could offer any insight into how the hive receiver should be wired
yeah wright, time to get one in .

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply but in the context of my original post I'm no wiser. I was seeking specific advice as to which connections on the receiver go to which specific connections in the boiler.