Discuss HMO conversion in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

SJA79

-
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

After a bit of help in regards to sub main runs for some flats which are on dual tariff for storage heaters.

Ive been asked to take this job over by the client and first fix has been done already. I admit I have limited experience when it comes to dual tariff supplies installed from new.

It was an HMO which has been recently converted into 3 seperate flats. At CU end from what I can see there have been 2 slots cut into the stud walls, one above the other where the CU position/s will be situated and the final circuits are fed from. (Top slot for peak circuits and lower slot NSH) These have been fed by two seperate 16mm T&E's for each flat and they have all been run starting from under the communal stairs. DNO has installed 3 seperate meter boxes with 3 100A supplies remotely outside the building for each flat. Dual tariff meters will be going in the meter boxes. Assuming this was a normal non dual tariff setup I would have just run in the 16mm swa from a sw/f unit in the meter box direct to the CU as normal but the dual tariff is throwing me a bit along with the 2 x 16mm's for each flat that have already been installed only to under the stairs. Personally think its been a miscommunication between the supply company and the previous spark as to where the supplies were to go in the first place.

1.) It is my understanding that the new dual tariff meters are 2 wire and it is just a single meter with L+N IN and L+N out, same as an ordinary supply meter. Is this right? In addition how would I be able to get everything connected up correctly under the stairs with the current setup above. Is it just a SPN SW/F unit out in SWA and connect into the 16mm's?