Discuss Hot Wire Cutter in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

dnb_p

Hi all,

I'm an architecture student and would be extremely grateful for some advice with a tool/machine that im making. Basically i'm creating a large hot wire cutter and need to pass enough power through to heat a 1.6mm, (or 2mm gauge) 1m long nichrome wire to a temperature suitable for cutting. This gauge increases the stiffness which is necessary when dragging through the foam.

This link below displays a hand tool that works in a similar way. This tool uses 0.8mm nichrome wire and comes with an adjustable transformer that can supply 2 Amps @ 16 volts

https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/817vqvmvMML._SL1500_.jpg

I've tried using an adjustable power supply at 3 amps, 30 volts with crocodile clips but had no success. I obviously don't have much knowledge in this sector and need to find a way to heat the wire, any help would be great!

Last edited by a moderator:
The thicker the wire the lower the resistance and so more power is needed to generate heat in the wire.
Generally heating elements are fairly low resistance but consume a lot of power.
Your power supply needs to be capable of outputting significant current, which can be expensive.
I am surprised that the tool specified has enough heat output.
However if that one is OK then your wire will need about four times more power to heat to the same level assuming 1.6mm is the diameter of the wire.(resistance is proportional to the square of the radius)
So 2A @ 16V is 32W
you would need 5A at 30V (=150W) or more to generate similar heat I would have thought, off the cuff, 8A would be better.
Generally finding a reasonably price power supply can be expensive and if it is for occasional use then a 12V battery (that can supply a lot of current) can be successful, although I am not sure of the actual calculations involved.