Discuss House to Garage Mains supply for pottery kiln in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

tomhumf

Hi forum!

I'm not an electrician...I thought this was a good place to get some advice on my situation though.

I've just bought an electric pottery kiln - 230 volts, 26 amps, 5980watts, which I plan to use in a detached garage in our garden -approx 10 metres from closest house wall, and 20 metres from fusebox. Currently there is power going to garage,'installed' by previousowners. It's basically an extension lead from one of the coal shedswhich houses our washing machine - which goes through some conduit inthe garden. This extension lead has a breaker thing attached to theplug.

So I know this kiln can't run off a 13 amp plug...And from what I've read 'extension' leads should not be used with such high powered appliances anyway. So I think I need an electrician to install a wire directly from my main fuse box to the garage which can handle thesupply for the kiln, and also a few 13 amp sockets for other lowpowered stuff, and the lighting.

Could any one advise on which type of wiring I should be requesting? It seems higher amp wires need to be thicker, I guess costing more – are there other considerations? Not sure in underground conduit is ok, or wires hung above ground are a better solution? I would like to future proof a little so if we buy a larger kiln we don't have tostart re-wiring again.

And could anyone give a ballpark figure for installation, so I don't get ripped off? That's all for your time and I will try clarify anything that doesn't make sense...

get an electrician to do some design calcs for it....
he will need to know the Ib, the length of run, the earthing arrangements, whether or not you plan to use more current using equipment in the future in there, the existing supply arrangements.......