Discuss How to access the industrial sector?? in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

PeractoPaulo

Hello All,
I am a fully qualified electrician with experience solely in the domestic sector, I am 28 and from Ireland.
i would like to work maintenance in an industrial setting in the UK, originally from here, i would like to return- I am aware of ECS cards and JIB cards that are required,
it took me along time to figure out all the C+G's coding for different levels of qualification.

I would appreciate any advice from people who have walked this road or might be able to point me in the right direction.

thank you very much for taking the time to read this,
Regards, Paul

NVQ 3 In Electrical Maintenance (Can't remember the exact course name) or something like that. Should get you going.

Do a little research before you commit yourself to industrial maintenance. It will nearly always be shift work, will that suit you? Plant breakdowns will be in you're remit, having the plant manager breathing fire and brimstone is par for the course. It is one of the most stressful occupations you could choose. Don't ever thing you're going home when you're shifts ended, it just doesn't work like that. It's not an occupation, it's a way of life. Not just for you but you're family.

Hi Paul there is lots of company's in Ireland looking for maintenance sparks.. There is company's taking on people through the bridge scheme where u enter a production environment and be trained up in reactive maintenance etc ect.

So you take a job as a production monkey and get paid as such? It's an old con trick to get breakdown cover on the cheap. I've walked out on two companies that tried that.