Discuss How to become an Electrician in the London area? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

claydon1

Hi to all,
Firstly thanks in advance to anyone that can offer some advice, I'll try keep this as brief as possible.

In short I need to know the quickest way to get a job as a qualified electrician, ideally skipping the apprentice wage if that's possible?

The background to my story is that I'm currently living up in north wales and I work as a sales administrator for a Toyota dealership and to be honest it doesn't give me a great deal of job satisfaction. Me and my girlfriend are moving down to South London in May 2015 and I'm looking at it as an opportunity to change careers to something I'll enjoy. Becoming either an electrician or a plumber is what I'm looking at but to be honest electrician is what appeals the most. We're going to be moving in with girlfriends parents initially and given that I'm now 26 and haven't lived with my parents since I was 17 I'm going to be looking to get out of that place and into our own house ASAP hence the urgency to get on a reasonable wadge as quickly as I can.

I've seen these 25 day courses in domestic electrical installation such as this one: Domestic Electrical Installer TS4U-25: Silver
and all though the £3000 fee seems steep if it means getting into a £20K + a year job straight away then so be it.
What sort of wage could I expect to start on having the qualification from doing the course above?

Am I looking at this in the right way? Is it even possible to do what I'm trying to do? Am I being completely naive and stupid in my approach to this? Is anyone in the London area working as an electrician? Is there even any work about?

Feel free to rip my plan apart or tell me I'm living in a dream world, I'm pretty thick skinned.

Feel free to rip my plan apart or tell me I'm living in a dream world, I'm pretty thick skinned.

Yes, you are living in a dream world.