Discuss How to connect snap switch to this fan? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Basically i have this 12v volt that goes on car battery, it has a speed controller that goes from 0 to like 50000 rpm if you turn it to the right. Red/black cable goes to the car 12v battery, and the controller switch is controlled by 3 tiny cables red/black/white.

I want to solder a snap controller switch so it can spin at max rpm when i press on the controller switch. I have no experience in elektronics, can somebody help me out please how i need to solder the controller switch to make it work.

How to connect snap switch to this fan? {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

Here is a screen of a snap switch:

Hi - why not set the controller to the speed you want, then use a switch in the supply lead to turn the whole thing on / off ? Do you know the current draw? It's just that switch is for AC may not last long switching DC.

here's the diagram of the fan the fan uses 24 amps max, i believe the controller is like 12volt but i don't know how many amps it needs. So you suggest to snip the small speed controller cable (red/black/white) and wire a snap switch in between. It sounds good enough for me, do you have any idea which cable colors i need to wire on the snap switch?

And would a 3 amp 12volt snap switch be enough?

Doesn't y tube mighty car mods they did a vid on them

Reply to How to connect snap switch to this fan? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

OFFICIAL SPONSORS

Electrical Goods - Electrical Tools - Brand Names Electrician Courses Green Electrical Goods PCB Way Electrical Goods - Electrical Tools - Brand Names Pushfit Wire Connectors Electric Underfloor Heating Electrician Courses