Discuss How to get into the electrical industry? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Long story short - I'm in my mid-twenties and I finished college in 2011 studying the following:

- City & Guilds 2330 Level 3 Electrical Installation
- 17th Edition
- 2392 Inspection & Testing (I think it's the level 2 version of the 2391)
- PAT Testing

It was all mainly theory based, and for this reason I lost all motivation and didn't try to pursue it as a career. So I have no electrical work experience at all.

Now I'm looking to get into it properly, but I've forgotten pretty much everything from college!

So the question I have is:

What is my best approach to become eventually qualified if I have no experience at all & I have forgotten everything from college?

- I was looking into apprenticeships, but that'll be another 3 years on top of what I've already done

- I've looked at being an electrician's mate, but they all require experience and I wouldn't feel competent in the slightest

Hopefully you guys can put me on the right track!

Thanks!

Find a better paying career as if you didn't follow it through when you had the chance it will be fairly tough to get in to now.

As mentioned by Gavin just keep looking for electrician mates jobs.

One of My first port of call if I was in your position would be getting my head down and reading as much studying material as I can and hopefully much of it will sink in again.

All the best.

one of the biggest art robberies in the world was conducted by a couple of guys dressed as policemen, they just walked in and took it, still not caught

Reply to How to get into the electrical industry? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

NICEIC Certification Scheme Getting accredited to
Looking for some advice regarding joining a CPS. I've been in the electrical industry in various roles for nearly 10 years. I started my...
Replies
Views