Discuss I need serious help. Or counselling in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Devonchris

-
Esteemed
Reaction score
Dear auntie sparks

I'm not an electrician, not even a mate, but I have an overwhelming urge to buy a fluke 117. I've even seen a combi kit with a clamp meter that looks rather nice. I've no use for either of them but am still very tempted. If I give in to this drug like addiction I know I will only play with the dials or measure the resistance in things like a wet piece of string for a week or two until the novelty wears off.

I believe this is a connection to something in my dim and distant past as figures like 3/029 and 7/029 keep flashing in my brain.

I'm 67, I'm retired, I don't need this. So could someone please talk me out of it?

Dear auntie sparks

I'm not an electrician, not even a mate, but I have an overwhelming urge to buy a fluke 117. I've even seen a combi kit with a clamp meter that looks rather nice. I've no use for either of them but am still very tempted. If I give in to this drug like addiction I know I will only play with the dials or measure the resistance in things like a wet piece of string for a week or two until the novelty wears off.

I believe this is a connection to something in my dim and distant past as figures like 3/029 and 7/029 keep flashing in my brain.

I'm 67, I'm retired, I don't need this. So could someone please talk me out of it?

Buddy if you want someone to talk you out of buying test gear, you sure picked the wrong place ;):).
We're more likely to encourage the purchase :D

handbrake turn? i think not. he just lost it on a bend. anyway.good luck to him. i wish him a speedy recovery.

Buy a cheap chinese "Megger" , BM500A .
It will measure damp string , and probably zap you