Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss I'm new on any forum today!! in the New Member Introductions area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Tags:
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Grampabill

Grampabill New EF Member

Hi all.
    I have never joined a forum of any kind before so please bear with me if I ask what appear to be silly questions. It is not immediately apparent just how one posts so I hope I've got it right.
    I am a retired professional photographer who has always enjoyed fixing things (computers, cameras electronics etc.) but have only a very basic knowledge concerning "real" electricity and all it's foibles. I can and have changed light fittings and wall sockets quite cheerfully but I have questions concerning the niggling little things. My question for today is what is the difference between a charger and a power supply?
    The reason I ask is the charger for the wife's hand held vacuum cleaner has given up the ghost and, on examining it, it says on the label 'Power supply/Charger 24v 150 ma output. To replace it from the manufacturer the price is an eye watering £25.00 whereas Maplins sell lots with roughly the same output for approx. £9.00. Does the ma output really matter in this case?
    Sorry for being so long winded but as I have said this is all very new for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. westward10

westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

Welcome along.

3. rolyberkin

rolyberkin Electrician's Arms