Discuss I'm new on any forum today!! in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all.
I have never joined a forum of any kind before so please bear with me if I ask what appear to be silly questions. It is not immediately apparent just how one posts so I hope I've got it right.
I am a retired professional photographer who has always enjoyed fixing things (computers, cameras electronics etc.) but have only a very basic knowledge concerning "real" electricity and all it's foibles. I can and have changed light fittings and wall sockets quite cheerfully but I have questions concerning the niggling little things. My question for today is what is the difference between a charger and a power supply?
The reason I ask is the charger for the wife's hand held vacuum cleaner has given up the ghost and, on examining it, it says on the label 'Power supply/Charger 24v 150 ma output. To replace it from the manufacturer the price is an eye watering £25.00 whereas Maplins sell lots with roughly the same output for approx. £9.00. Does the ma output really matter in this case?
Sorry for being so long winded but as I have said this is all very new for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The voltage is more important than the ma output although you should get one which is roughly the same ma output as the one you are exchanging it for, it it is too low it takes longer to charge and too high may overheat the battery pack by charging too fast, but it must be 24v. I have recently lost the charger for my dewalt radio and found a 24v 2 amp one on eBay for £9. The Dewalt replacement was £80. Make sure the charge tip is the same size and polarity!