Discuss Industrial heater wiring in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi I was wondering about how a 23kw 400v 32A electrical heater would be wired, e.g what mcb and what size cable?? With 32A commando socket.

From what I’ve learned in college, I’m a level 2 apprentice, when it comes to cable calcs the design current P/V=I that would give me 100A and the cable would have to be at least 16mm. Is this right ?

Hi I was wondering about how a 23kw 400v 32A electrical heater would be wired, e.g what mcb and what size cable?? With 32A commando socket.

From what I’ve learned in college, I’m a level 2 apprentice, when it comes to cable calcs the design current P/V=I that would give me 100A and the cable would have to be at least 16mm. Is this right ?
You will need to know lots of information before deciding on cable size:
How long is the run
Installation method
Type of cable
Power Factor
ETC
Looks like you forgot to include the Square root of 3 in your cable calculations, is this a job or a College question?

First, you correctly state that I=P/V, but as you also state P=23kW and V=400 then I=23000/400=57.5A, not 32A nor 100A as you claim. But that would be 400V single-phase. Ooops.

Start again with a 3-phase power calculation...

You will need to know lots of information before deciding on cable size:
How long is the run
Installation method
Type of cable
Power Factor
ETC
Looks like you forgot to include the Square root of 3 in your cable calculations, is this a job or a College question?

It is theoretical not a job,
the run would be about 15m and either in Swa or sy cable and clipped direct. Why would you need a power factor ? And I haven’t got as far as doing square root of 3 in my cable calcs that’s level 3 stuff.

First, you correctly state that I=P/V, but as you also state P=23kW and V=400 then I=23000/400=57.5A, not 32A nor 100A as you claim. But that would be 400V single-phase. Ooops.