Discuss Installing a 230v Single Phase Air Compressor in my home garage in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi gents

Just joined and this is my first post.

I’ve decided to upgrade my home garage compressed air setup since my current 3hp 50ltr 8cfm struggles to run the air tools I’m using to restore my old project car.

All was going ok until I invested in a 20 gallon sandblaster with the result being its simply not up to the job.

I’ve tried adding a separate 100ltr air receiver tank so I have more stored air volume in an attempt to keep the motor cycle from trying to keep up with the amount of air I need, but it really has been to no avail unfortunately.

So I may as well make it clear at this point that I’m not an electrician, nor do I have any qualified electrical experience which has led me here.

Rightly or wrongly, I’ve been advised by friends that having 3 Phase power installed could be very costly so I guessed that’s out the question which has lead me to looking at the next best option being a 230v Single Phase setup which would allow me to utilise a bigger motor powered compressor.

So I’ve hunted about and decided that what I’d like is this vertical type compressor with a 4hp motor running on 1ph: Clarke VE18C150 18cfm Industrial Vertical Electric Air Compressor 1ph (150ltr) - Machine Mart - Machine Mart - https://www.machinemart.co.uk/p/clarke-ve18c150-18cfm-industrial-vertical-elec-2/

Moving forwards, I’ve found the exact compressor linked above which somebody else purchased a year ago but didn’t end up using (for whatever reason) for nearly half the list price so I’ve snapped it up and take delivery tomorrow if all goes to plan.