Discuss Intermittent beep on heat alarm in the Security Alarms, Door Entry and CCTV (Public) area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
This is my first time on here so please be kind :hurray:
I have a problem with a new house I wired last summer. The first 6 months all was fine, then all of a sudden the heat alarm in the kitchen started to beep intermittently. I have replaced the alarm twice and both smoke heads without any luck. Then I have replaced every alarm with a different make and still the heat alarm beeps. It does it once in a day then nothing for a couple of days, then it might chirp twice. I have tested all of the wiring and everything is clear. The heat alarm is in mid circuit between 2 smokes. All I can think it might be is that the customer is doing something to cause it to beep but I have no idea what. Has anyone got any other ideas? Also has anyone else ever had a similar problem?
Many thanks
Trevor.

An intermittent beep on a smoke or heat alarm, normally suggest the internal battery is low on charge, (I'm sure you would know his as an electrician/householder), but you say you have replaced the alarm. What type of alarm have you installed and who is the manufacturer, perhaps they could advise?

The original fitment was Deta... and now I have fitted Aico... thats my next move is to call the Deta technical dept today.... its just really doing my head in now

The original fitment was Deta... and now I have fitted Aico... thats my next move is to call the Deta technical dept today.... its just really doing my head in now

why would you ring Deta if you have now fitted Aico..... Unless you have both types connected together?