• IMPORTANT: Please note that nobody on this forum should be seeking from or providing advice to those who are not competent and / or trained and qualified in their field (local laws permitting). There is a discussion thread on this global industry-wide matter HERE. This also has more information about the warning with regards to sharing electrical advice in some countries. By using this forum you do so in agreement to this.

Discuss Introducing myself and some questions in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello,

I am not an electrician but a fairly experienced DIYer. I know a bit of theory, from my interest in Physics.

I am replacing an old ceramic hob with a new Induction hob. It is on its own 32a supply with an mcb.

Manufacturer's rather generic, to-cover-themsleves safety notice says among other things "shock protection must be included".

The house has no RCD protection (it was built in 2002). IMHO an RCD is desirable but not essential. Would folk agree?

The house has a 3-phase supply with 3 10oA Tenby Consumer Units. AFAIK RCD replacement 100A main breakers aren't available to fit, so if I wanted RCD protection for the whole house, I assume it would mean three new consumer units - expensive! Or would it?

I guess I could fit or have fitted, and MCCB just for the hob supply. Is that:
a. Really necessary?
b. A diy job?

One other question.

The breaker for the off-peak supply on one of my Dimplex Quantum storage heaters (which I find v good by the way), tripped the other night. There was no fault and having checked and reset it, the heater is now working OK .