Discuss IR testing in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Pete999

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Now that I'm a retired Electrician with nothing to do other than annoy Forum members with inane posts, and browse the net.
I came across some American videos about MICC installations, and having worked in the states on many occasions I found 1 vid rather interesting, a guy "Russ La Blance code violations" Russ was testin IR on a 2 core MICC cable and referred to the minimum Meg Ohm reading between the cores and the cores to Earth as 100 Meg Ohm, anyone got any thoughts, just interested that's all, as most of the American Sparks I worked with just did the bang test," would love to hear any thoughts from any of our American members as well, another inane post, sorry

I can't see how anyone would want to work MI without doing IR tests. Even though they get away with just the bang test on PVC & XLPE cables, which are usually either shorted or not, surely it would be in the interests of the wireman to test MI as he goes, to identify any bad seals, wet cable ends that weren't adequately pared back etc. There are more variables in MI until it tests good.

I too have watched a good few American MI termination vids, the ones which use tape and heatshrink instead of a pot and seal are particularly hilarious.
I wonder if the 100meg value you saw was a misinterpretation of the suggested value of 100meg which appears in the pyrotenax instructions?

I too have watched a good few American MI termination vids, the ones which use tape and heatshrink instead of a pot and seal are particularly hilarious.
I wonder if the 100meg value you saw was a misinterpretation of the suggested value of 100meg which appears in the pyrotenax instructions?