Discuss Is a mother board first fix or second fix in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

dandalion

Hi
I am a property developer currently doing a development of some flats.
The contractor was to provide first fix electrics. He is saying this doesnt include the mother board and all the bit within it (I am not sure of the technical terms). but it seems to me that a mother board should be first fix.
grateful for any advice.
Many thanks,
Leo

Welcome to the forum. If the sparky has quoted for first fix of the flats, that is what he has quoted for. The main DB/main board and the running of cables to the flats or the local main boards are a different matter.

Think of it like a road system..... Motorway = Main board leading to an....
'A' road = main board for that floor leading to......
a Cul de Sac = The flat!

What did you ask him to first fix? Just the flats or the cabling for the mains to each floor + the boards?

Hi
The contractor was to provide first fix electrics. He is saying this doesnt include the mother board and all the bit within it (I am not sure of the technical terms). but it seems to me that a mother board should be first fix.
grateful for any advice.
Many thanks,
Leo

By mother board I assume you mean distribution board/consumer unit...that's normally 2nd fix, unless it is a flush unit. First fix is cables and flush boxes installed to enable walls/ceilings to be boarded and plastered.

the first fix would include cables to the DB or CU. any equipment or accessories come under 2nd fix and commissioning.

Hi
grateful for any advice.
Many thanks,
Leo

why should the "mother board" be part of the first fix?

Surely you have contracted him to do the 2nd fix too?

First fix is throwing a few cables around, back boxes etc. Second fix is fitting out plus CU.