Discuss Isolation for a bathroom fan in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mark payne

Hello I work as a maintenance man in a hotel that has recently been fitted with Greenwood Unity CV2GIP bathroom fans. These fans run constantly, full speed when the light is on and trickle speed when the light is off.
No isolation switch has been fitted for these fans other than turning off the MCB in the small fuse board in the bedroom.
Does this comply with the current wiring regulations? I thought that a triple pole isolater should have been fitted, but not sure if it is a regulation or recommendation.
If anyone could enlighten me and possibly give me the regulation number it would be a great help.

thw whole purpose of a fan isolator is to enable you to isolate the fan without killing the lights, in order to be able to see when servicing/replacing fan, so in this case, a fan isolator is desirable.

Hi,i suppose full isolation can be achieved from the DB,which will not be a million miles from where a 3 pole would be...

That,and the fact that fitting a separate isolator could be 2/3's more work:)

As far as I am aware there is no specific regulation for extractor fans isolation.
Regulation 537.2.1.2 specifies that suitable means must be available to prevent inadvertent energisation.
However this can be provided in a domestic situation by the MCB or the main switch.
The electricians guide to the building regulations states that for fans in bathrooms without a window that a fan should be (not must be) provided with a triple pole isolator so that changing the fan can be done with the light on.
However any other item of electrical equipment on a lighting circuit would have to be changed in the dark as a matter of course so this seems a little OTT.
In general the accepted practice is to provide a triple pole isolator as it avoids later questions about safety, but I do not believe it is a specific requirement.