Discuss JIB CARD - how do I get one? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

mikex79

hello
does anybody know how to get a JIB card. I have finished my 2330 level 2 and 3 , 17th edition IEE, Part P, I have CSCS site operative card and I have recently passed my ECS health and safety exam which is essential for a JIB card. the thing is that I have no experience as an electrician in a propper company and I have always warked as a general builder but always when there was an electrical work to do I used to do that or helped an electrician so I cannot really prove my experience.
Does anybody know how to start with it, shall I apply for a labour card first? I downloaded an application form but it is not very obvious for me where to start but I want one of this cards as I may get a job having one.
please advice

and currently I am unemployed :-(

Last edited by a moderator:
hello
does anybody know how to get a JIB card. I have finished my 2330 level 2 and 3 , 17th edition IEE, Part P, I have CSCS site operative card and I have recently passed my ECS health and safety exam which is essential for a JIB card. the thing is that I have no experience as an electrician in a propper company and I have always warked as a general builder but always when there was an electrical work to do I used to do that or helped an electrician so I cannot really prove my experience.
Does anybody know how to start with it, shall I apply for a labour card first? I downloaded an application form but it is not very obvious for me where to start but I want one of this cards as I may get a job having one.
please advice

and currently I am unemployed :-(

When you apply they will give you an improver card only as you do not have an NVQ3 to get an electricians card.

By the way Part P is a building regulation not a qualification.

thats not true

nvq is for approved

i got sparks with out it

Sorry to disagree from JIB website