Discuss JIB Joining in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone am new to this site. I am looking for some clarificatio if anyone could help.
I've been working as a domestic electrician for the past 3 years after passing my City & Guilds 2382,2392. I have 17th Edition also Part P. I applied for a JIB card after passing the ECS and they sent me a labourers card. They informed me that I need to pass a NVQ level 3 to reapply. Getting in touch with some training centres I am now told I have to pass 2365 at a price of approx £4000. But looking through it seems the same stuff as I already passed including 17th Edition. My heads spinning with it all. Why I have to pass every course in the world when I already work as a electrician I will never know. I've worked on domestic installations also commercial. Can anyone clarify why all these are required??????

Cheers everyone

Hi everyone am new to this site. I am looking for some clarificatio if anyone could help.
I've been working as a domestic electrician for the past 3 years after passing my City & Guilds 2382,2392. I have 17th Edition also Part P. I applied for a JIB card after passing the ECS and they sent me a labourers card. They informed me that I need to pass a NVQ level 3 to reapply. Getting in touch with some training centres I am now told I have to pass 2365 at a price of approx £4000. But looking through it seems the same stuff as I already passed including 17th Edition. My heads spinning with it all. Why I have to pass every course in the world when I already work as a electrician I will never know. I've worked on domestic installations also commercial. Can anyone clarify why all these are required??????

Cheers everyone

Because it proves you have had the proper technical training to become graded as an electrician under the eyes of the JIB and many other sparks in the trade.

Cheers everyone