Discuss JIB registered electrician in South Africa in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

nick greek

Hi all

I am a UK JIB registered electrician who has just moved to Cape Town with my SA wife on a spousal visa. I am some what confused by the different answers I get concerning working here as an electrician as follows,

As a UK JIB registered electrician with relevant City & Guilds qualifications can I work as an electrician?? or do I need to sit exams like in Australia to allow me to work

Are there any electricians who can give myself some guidance and information on this confusing issue

Many Thanks

Nick

Hi Nick.

This is from a few years back and was the procedure in Cape Town but it might still be the same.

You will need to send your qualifications to South African Qualifications Authority - Home Page. They will evaluate it to the RSA equivalent. You will most likely have to sit an assessment trade test in order to establish the level of knowledge you have. Exam paper on electrical theory, ohms law etc.

There will be small installation board where you have to wire a few sockets, switches, trunking, steel tray metal conduit( aka bosal in RSA) pvc conduit, T&E, Surfix (like fp 200)

You could be put on one of the motor panels they have if you pass the first stage. This could be 3 phase forward reverse, single phase forward reverse, one of a few different types of sequence starting panels to test your knowledge of motor control circuits.

If you have to sit a trade test, then it is a 2 day affair with many different things they can test you on.