Discuss job interview in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

D

Dave the spark

Evenin' all,

I've got an interview on Tuesday for a position carrying out inspection and testing within water treatment plants.

I have very little interview experience due to being with the same company from serving my time until last year, 20 years in all. I've also never worked in an industrial environment, or within water treatment plants, but it is an area I'm really interested in moving in to as I'm sick to death of working in a domestic environment.

Has anyone ever worked within water treatment plants, or similar installations? Are there any areas I could educate myself in, e.g types of glands to be used for external and corrosive influences? Anything at all that might help me?

I'll be honest, it took me a long time to try and improve myself as an electrician and my attitude wasn't always right but once I grew up a bit I've strived to better myself, and learn as much as I could to allow me to keep improving my knowledge. Getting this job would be the next step for me and it's a progression I really want to make.

Any tips for interviews and areas to look at regulation wise would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Wouldn't know where to start on the technical side of things but do some homework on the organisation / company that's running the plant so that you can get up to speed on their history / corporate goals / mission statements etc. Interview boards usually have an HR person that likes all that crap along with equal opps and equality in the work place. On the other hand you might get someone that just needs to know that you can do the job and get out of bed in the morning! Good luck.