Discuss Kitchen rewire (refurbishment) in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Fitzy

-
Arms
Reaction score
Hi Guys

Newbie here.

I’m newly qualified and my nieces partner who does building work, extensions, kitchen refurbs etc is going to put some work my way, so I can start gaining some experience, but I can’t find an answer to whether a room rewire i.e. kitchen refurb using the original CU & MCB’s isnotifiable or not! In my eyes it’s NOT notifiable as I’m not technically adding a new circuit, just upgrading (modifying) the cabling.....

correct. it' would only be notifiable if you were changing the CU or adding a new circuit. (bathrooms excepted, as all work there is notifiable ). still need to complete a EIC (MWC usually in your case).

You should download approved document P to become familiar with the requirements if you are starting doing domestic work.
Here are the works that are notifiable in England though

Kitchen rewire (refurbishment) Screenshot 2018-03-24 19.00.20 - EletriciansForums.net

Part P Building Regs (England) states notifiable work is;
  • installation of a new circuit
  • replacement of consumer unit
  • addition or alteration to existing circuits in a special location
So you might think you're in the clear. However, when completing a compliance certification, it mentions a rewire or partial rewire, as does the competent persons web site; The Regulations Explained - http://www.electricalcompetentperson.co.uk/Regulations-Explained

So if in your kitchen, circuits are rewired, they are suggesting perhaps that is a new circuit. Tin hat on!

Last edited: