Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Kitchen sink earth bonding in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. ComeOnSFF

ComeOnSFF New EF Member

Hi,

Apols for the long post.

I do small maintenance plumbing, inc quite a lot of taps. I have zero knowledge/experience with electrics so please excuse any misuse of the lingo.

It's my understanding that flexible hoses (the type supplied with many taps) do not comply with earthing and so if there is a pre-existing tap piped up in rigid copper and you would like to replace it and install flexible hoses instead you should not do this if the rigid copper pipework and sink have earthing cables on them as this would break the continuity...?

However I've also been told that bonding kitchen sinks/taps is no longer done/considered necessary. And so presumably in many case the earthing cables that remain there are not necessary any more and have just not been removed.

What I want to know is - as someone with no electrcial knowledge - is there some visual inspection I can do of the consumer unit or whathaveyou to know that I can safely install flexible hoses? And conversely a visual inspection I can do to confirm that it would be unsafe to?

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

2. kingeri

kingeri Trusted Advisor

Bonding kitchen sinks went out with the ark (thankfully). Just fit the flexible pipework, no problem. Looking at the consumer unit or other electrics won't help you.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. Wilko

Wilko Electrician's Arms

Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    There is often the stopcock under the sink with a green/yellow cable attached. That one must be preserved :)

• Agree Agree x 3
  4. Des 56

Des 56 Trusted Advisor