Discuss Larger 6kWp+ domestic install before the FIT cut in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

wtc

-
Reaction score
I'm not an electrician, just a householder (though do work in an area given a kick in the family jewels by government decision last year). I am technically minded so want to understand that proposed systems are worth the spend. I have a decent south facing roof space that can take around 25-27 standard sized panels, with some horizon level shading from trees and a bit more early evening due to roof shape.

Since I have the roof space and can go for 6kWp+, I was hoping for a potentially better return due to the economies of scale (e.g. one inverter, one lot of scaffolding, etc), but the more competitive 4kWp arena means this is probably not the case. Furthermore, it is unfortunate that now I'm in a position to actually go ahead with solar PV, there seems to be a mad scramble to get an installation by the end of the year and/or secure the components needed.

I have had a few quotes so far but not entirely happy with varying aspects of them and have listed some thoughts below.

1. G59 response time
Given the time to the potential FIT cut, I have explicitly suggested a G83/2 install with capped inverter, but installers seem be wary of this and want to go with G59/3. My DNO is SSE, but what is unusual is that it is a former hospital site in Epsom, Surrey. The remaining parts of the hospital and all the surrounding area use UK Power Networks, but the new build houses and flats use SSE. The electricity infrastructure is therefore all new. Some of the early houses had a token 1kWp added by the developer, a few have retrofitted 4kWp, but most homes are apartments in the conservation area (I’m not) without solar PV.