Discuss LED Ceiling Fixture Replacement Help in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Sai N

-
Reaction score
Hello, all,

I am seeking advice to fit a new fixture I brought just recently. Currently active is a simple rose with bulb. I’m a novice when it comes to electrics, can change a few plug sockets and sometimes a light, but this baffles me.

The junction box with the new light comes with the clip system rather than typical screws. I am aware I need to somehow shove three wires into one terminal (which hole I don’t know yet), but will the clip even hold? I’m also curious regarding the neutral wire with a red sleeve. I read this is a switch wire and cannot be placed with the other black ones?

I’m including photos of the current fitting’s wiring and the new one’s box. Can you advice me on what to do? I would have asked a qualified electrician to fit it but all I got in contact with said they’d charg over £60 (more than the light cost!) and are too busy for the next month.

1929ACB0-3F8A-4D37-96A2-F32A5899EA5F.jpeg 103BF75B-15EE-4AB4-8BA1-E0F5CBB40C96.jpeg

Please do not "shove" 3 cables into a connector. They are designed for single cables

Please do not "shove" 3 cables into a connector. They are designed for single cables

Wrong use of word, I suppose, but how am I going to fit them to my new light?

I’m aware that the blue and brown wires are null as they’re a part of the fitting, and the three red are loop. Am I right in thinking loop wires shouldn’t be connected to the new terminal but rather to their own one? I have a few of those screw-type ends where you can twist wires together. Can I connect the two black to the neutral terminal, the black/red to live, earth to earth, and then twist the loop wires together and insulate them?

@Murdoch .. I've not seen this lever type connector in lights before.. Are they like the Wago lever connectors?

OP: You will be better off using something like this for connecting up the wires..