Discuss Led light fittings constantly dim in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi new on here I am an adult apprentice fitted 2 new led fittings in an old house connected them up and at first switched on and off ok but my cousin called me telling me they aren’t switching on any more.

I have went back and checked they are just constantly dim.

It is not dimmer switches just 1 gang 1 way switches
Have no idea what’s gone wrong
Help would be appreciated
Thanks

I have a couple of faulty/very dim LED fittings, both had poor or no neutral connections (factory worker had not stripped the insulation before fitting crimp).

If you are an apprentice get whoever you work with to come with you to guide you through the fault finding.

Have you got a voltage tester to hand?
Check you've got 230v at the point of connection.
Are these '230v' LED's (plug into a normal lampholder, GU10, or whatever) or are they ones with a driver? Check the voltage on the output of the driver.
Also check it is a driver, and not a transformer. Transformers that came with 12v halogens are no good for 12v LED

If you've got 230v at the point of connection, then you've got faulty fittings if all the terminations are done properly.

Philips SceneSwitch: Switch light settings without switching bulbs | Philips Lighting - http://applications.nam.lighting.philips.com/blog/index.php/2016/09/20/philips-sceneswitch-switch-light-settings-without-switching-bulbs/